52. The Last Week

I expected this week to be bittersweet, what with coming to the end of the blog and all, but I found myself too busy doing new things to be dwelling upon the end of this year. Though technically fifty-two weeks have passed, next week will be my official reflection about this year. I simply have too much I want to share about this week!

Things that are new this week:

1. I have a new job! In addition to working at a frozen yogurt shop, I now work in retail! I applied at the end of May for a job at this clothing store, and after following up a few times I got an interview on Monday. My persistence paid off, as I was hired on Tuesday!

2. Tried some new Indian food at my friend’s house! Basically: a pani puri shell filled with chickpeas and potatoes, dipped in tamarind sauce, and noodles in a sweet milk-based sauce (an idea similar to kugel).

3. Ate at Life Alive, an organic vegetarian cafe. I tried “The Adventurer” and “The Mystic Mountain”. Each came as a half-wrap, and the two of them were surprisingly filling.

4. Of course, a great way to experience new things (or old ones, for that matter) is to go to a museum. The Museum of Fine Arts Boston is right in my back yard, so on Thursday I went for a much-needed visit. I loved the contemporary wing, which had moved to a larger hall and added pieces. Of course, I saw works from the permanent collection that I recognized, but there’s always something new to see in a museum.

5. My brother asked me last night to shave a lightning bolt into his hair. It was 10 p.m. and I had just gotten home. I was tired and definitely didn’t feel up to any artistic hair shaving, but  my mom told me he had been waiting hours for me to come shave his head. It was an experience for both of us, but ultimately it turned out alright. Not quite how he wanted, but he was satisfied with the result. But he did tell me that he’ll go to a real barber next time.

So that’s it! A year of new experiences is over. Come back next week for the final installment of Something New 52!

Firsts This Week:

  • New job
  • New foods
  • New (and old) art
  • Hair Shaving

2 thoughts on “52. The Last Week

  1. Hey Ziv,

    52 weeks have gone by so quickly. I enjoyed reading your blogs week after week and I will miss it dearly. You’ve set yourself a goal and you made it through with so many beautiful things to write about. Life is far from being boring, there are always new things to explore, to do and to experience. Most importantly is to take note of these things, pay attention as they happen and enjoy them the way you did. Most of us do not do that let alone write them down…
    I look forward to read your thoughts and reflection upon the last 52 weeks. I will definitely miss this interesting blog of yours if it comes to an end.

    I love you and wish you the best!!!
    Aviram

  2. Hi Ziv, I’m going to miss your weekly blog postings–I’ve enjoyed following all your new adventures throughout the year! Good luck in college and I’m sure I’ll see you around the neighborhood!

Leave a comment