22. The Perks of Being a Jew on Christmas

To the people who are not busy celebrating the birth of Jesus, Christmas is quite boring. From hearing Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You” since before Thanksgiving to the holiday shopping hysteria, Christmas seems like a year’s worth of preparation for a few hours of enjoyment. If you’re not Christian, there’s not much to do besides staying home or subscribing to the Jewish stereotype of a “Chinese food and movies” Christmas. While I did improve my movie literacy by watching “Pretty Woman”, at about two p.m. I decided it was time for an adventure. I ended up taking my siblings for a drive. The roads were empty, so I took the liberty of cruising at the whopping speed of 7 miles per hour (much to the dismay of my brother and sister, who were hoping for a joyride) and parking as horribly as I could in the parking lot of CVS. Even CVS offered diminished fun on Christmas– due to Massachusetts “Blue Laws”, they were only permitted to sell certain classes of items. We ended up buying half a gallon of milk, before taking a circuitous route home.

Happy holidays and have a wonderful new year!

Firsts This Week:

  • Watched “Pretty Woman”, “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes”, and started “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner.
  • Tried to have fun while buying milk

3 thoughts on “22. The Perks of Being a Jew on Christmas

      • Ziv, my favorite movie with Sidney Poitier–and, in fact, one of my favorite movies of all time–is “To Sir With Love.” I highly recommend that one to you–I think you’ll like it. The theme song is terrific, too, and was a #1 hit when it came out. Enjoy!!

Leave a comment