19. A Long List of Movies I Haven’t Seen, and a few that I have

Though I generally try to be informed, I am hopelessly behind when it comes to movies. However, I can no longer be blissfully ignorant. After missing one too many Star Wars references in conversation, I realized that it is time to fix my movie literacy. Since my parents were not raised in the US, they never introduced me to films widely regarded as classics in America. As a result, my classic movie knowledge only extends as far as the James Bond movies, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Blazing Saddles, The Shawshank Redemption, and The Wizard of Oz. The list below contains movies that I’ve been meaning to see, including classics and films from the past few years. For the past few months, I’ve added movies to the list as I continue to miss pop culture references and silently berate myself for not having caught up with the times.

Movies I Haven’t Seen

  • Inception
  • The Dark Knight
  • The Notebook
  • Mean Girls
  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Star Wars
  • Lord of the Rings
  • The Town
  • Citizen Kane
  • A Clockwork Orange
  • Scarface
  • Casablanca
  • Rebecca
  • The Postman Always Rings Twice
  • Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
  • No Strings Attached
  • Friends With Benefits
  • Black Swan
  • The Godfather
  • Gone With The Wind
  • Jaws
  • The Blind Side
  • Pulp Fiction
  • Transformers

Firsts this week:

  • Watched The Philadelphia Story, and was thus introduced to Katharine Hepburn, Cary Grant, and John Stewart.

In the Comments Section:

Tell me, what other classic movies should I add to the list? Do you agree with my choices? Are there any movies that you’ve particularly enjoyed? Do you have a favorite cultural reference that comes from a movie?

1 thought on “19. A Long List of Movies I Haven’t Seen, and a few that I have

Leave a comment